iM4Ufm celebrates World Radio Day in a hot air balloon

Thursday 16 February, 2017


Malaysian youth station iM4U fm celebrated World Radio Day on Monday by broadcasting its morning show, BANGKIT Squad, live from a hot air balloon.

Show hosts Jiggy, Amrita Dhillion and Tyler Lim presented their segments 500 metres above the ground trvelling in the balloon from Putrajaya to Cyberjaya.

It took the iM4U team 50 minutes to inflate the hot air balloon and it travelled approximately 3km, for around 60 minutes.

In future, I wish to broadcast live from the moon,” Tyler said.

I want to do it when I’m parachuting,” Jiggy added.

“We are humbly grateful for the opportunity to host BANGKIT Squad in a hot air balloon. World Radio Day is about embracing and celebrating the advancements of radio. What better way to do it than in a hot air balloon? Through live streaming, our listeners are able to share and enjoy our experiences as well,” says Kartini Ariffin, Director of iM4U fm.

In line with World Radio Day 2017’s official theme, “Radio is YOU”, iM4U fm targets to engage, empower and inspire their listeners to achieve anything they set their minds to.

“By broadcasting live in a hot air balloon, we hope to not only inspire, empower and engage our listeners but also our announcers and everyone out there to dream big and achieve those dreams. This not only pushes various boundaries in the radio industry however, allows us into pushing our limits and thinking outside of the box,” adds Ariffin.

Last year, for World Radio Day 2016, iM4U fm celebrated the day with over 40 children from Yayasan Chow Kit and KL Crash Pad in their effort to promote the radio industry to the youth. It was also an opportunity for the station to provide opportunity to the under privileged to be exposed to the radio industry. 

Country Malaysia
Post a Comment


Log InYou must be logged in to post comments.
AsiaRadioToday operated by Radioinfo Australia, ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  T: 0413 790 666 02 9888 5705  |  All content © 2015. All Rights Reserved.